College of the Canyons men's golf student-athlete Leo Cheng.

Canyons Wins Third Straight Conference Event

By Jesse Muñoz/COC Sports Information Director 

SOLVANG — Leo Cheng and Hugo Amsallem both fired rounds of 73 for College of the Canyoan as the Cougars won a third straight conference tournament at Alisal Ranch Golf Course on Monday.

Cheng's score represented the freshman's best finish of the season and tied him with teammate Amsallem, Evan Colburn (Ventura) and John Dearth (Citrus) for the tourney's No. 2 spot. Thomas Dyfour (Glendale) was the event medalist. 

Canyons finished the day with a five-man team score of 373 with Cheng, Amsallem, Magnus Hansen, Noe Del Campo and Kieran Bye all turning in scoring rounds.

Ventura College (385) was second, just one stroke ahead of third-place Glendale (386).

Tourney host Santa Barbara City College (405) was fourth followed by Bakersfield (408), Citrus (415), Allan Hancock (422) and Antelope Valley College (441). 

Amsallem has now finished as medalist or runner-up in all three Western State Conference (WSC) events. Cheng preceded his runner-up status with a fourth-place individual finish a week ago in Ventura and a third-place result at the conference opener on Feb. 7.

Hansen tied for sixth overall with a score of 74 and was followed closely by Noe Del Campo who was next in eighth place with a round of 75. 

Kieran Bye was the final player to score for the Cougars with his score of 78 tying for 15th overall. Paul Hautbourg finished with a round of 81 but did not have score count toward the team total.

Canyons will have a small break from WSC play, next competing in the Riverside Invitational on Monday, Feb. 28. Action is scheduled to get underway at 10 a.m. from Victoria Country Club.

1. Canyons (373) 2. Ventura (385) 3. Glendale (386) 4. SBCC (405) 5. Bakersfield (408) 6. Citrus (415) 7. Allan Hancock (422) 8. Antelope Valley (441)

Hugo Amsallem (73, T-second); Leo Cheng (73, T-second); Magnus Hansen (74, T-sixth); Noe Del Campo (75, T-eighth); Kieran Bye (78, T-15th); Paul Hautbourg (81).


1. 72 — Thomas Dufour (GCC)

2. 73 – Hugo Amsallem (COC); Leo Cheng (COC); Evan Colborn (VC); John Dearth (Citrus)

6. 74 — Magnus Hansen (COC); Nate Frink (GCC)

8. 75 — Noe Del Campo(COC); Jack Wellenkamp(AHC); Steen Zeman(VC); Nick Burns    (VC)

12. 76 — Ryan Gay (SBCC)

13. 77 — Derrick Rossmango (AVC); Blake Keesey (BC)

15. 78 — Kieran Bye (COC); Cortez Herrera (Citrus); Baker Jones (AHC); Calem Rodriguez (SBCC)

Stay up to date on all this season's action by following the College of the Canyons Athletic department on social media at @COCathletics on Twitter, InstagramFacebook and YouTube

—Photo by Mari Kneisel/COC Sports Information